Sustainable Food

Posted on July 5, 2011

1


Having the summers “off” as a teacher can be a great thing. I get to catch up on sleep, do yoga in the middle of the day, exercise, and really hone in on those things about my life that I would like to change.

It can also be a pain in the ass, because I have all the time in the world, and once I get going with something in my head, I have a hard time letting it go until I feel totally satisfied with the answer.

Today I set out to find a good place to supply me with sustainable food recipes. I know the basics written by the likes of Michael Pollan and others, and do a good job of eating as seasonally as I can,  from local products that were most importantly raised in an ecologically sustainable way. I eat lots of fresh fruits and veggies. I eat straight from the garden. But today I was looking for more. I am trying a radical experiment on myself, to see how well I can live on this Earth, making the littlest impact I can, while simultaneously creating the largest ripple I can on those around me. In order to do this, I need to practice what I preach.

I am on the prowl for the best diet I can eat in Northeast Ohio (and soon Brooklyn, NY) that provides me with enough nutrients to be really physically active. It seems simple, but for some reason I have the capacity to turn it into a chore. A friend talked about intuitive eating; but I am unlearning so much that I was either taught or have been subjected to by being an apathetic participant in popular and mainstream culture for so long, that I always feel like I would like a model. More than a model, I want a path that one person in my exact position has already walked down, but I’ve left those people back in Oakland.

Tonight we will start with the  kale and beets in the garden for a nice salad, with some hard boiled eggs. Tomorrow is the first visit to the Lake Metroparks Farmers Market.

Which is the worst of three evils? Driving ten miles to go get my food? Biking one mile to a SUPERmarket that has a very low stock of organic or local foods? Fasting until flashes of enlightenment come from starvation?

Off we go to reap what we sow.

Posted in: Uncategorized